Facing Facts

So the news about dialysis has sunk in and I feel like I need to start making plans.

My first thought when I heard the news was for my job. Luckily my Mum had previously been into the school I work at to hand in a sick note on my behalf, so they were aware I was poorly. My Headteacher assured my Mum my job was safe and even suggested that when the time was right my Mum could mention maybe returning part time.

When this was suggested my Mum didn’t realise we would be having the conversation quite so soon. I went into work on Monday and I decided with support from A, my Head and my parents to go part time at work. It’s a big blow as I have worked so hard to be able to work full time so I feel like I am letting people down, but I know it’s for the best.

My health comes first and if going part time means I can keep my kidney healthier for a bit longer it’s a small price to pay. Working part time also means that I can spend quality time with my family, A and Buddy before the dialysis regime takes a hold on my life.

I will be working Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. These aren’t set in stone, I can go back full time or change my days if I need to.

I am so lucky to work at a great school and have an understanding Headteacher.

So that’s a weight off my mind and one of the many adjustments I’m going to have to make to my life in the coming months.

4 thoughts on “Facing Facts

Leave a Reply

