My 2014

I had no idea that 2014 would be potentially be my last year with my kidney and dialysis free…

What did you do in 2014 that you’d never done before? … Went on a girly holiday!

Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for 2015? …. I never really make resolutions.  I wanted to make my donor proud as always.  I hope I achieved this.  This year I intend to

How did you spend New Year’s Eve? …
I spent the night with A, we went to sleep but the fireworks (and Buddy barking) woke us up.  We said “Happy New Year” to eachother (and the dog) and then went back to sleep.

Did anyone close to you die? … The beautiful Emily, I will be lost without her.

What countries did you visit? …
Southern Ireland – a fantastic girly trip to Dublin, lots of laughter and plenty of Irish Jigging!

What would you like to have in 2015 that you lacked in 2014? … I can’t actually think of anything for this one… maybe another dog!

What date from 2014 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? …
7th June.  Mine and A’s first date. Ewwww did I really become that soppy!

What was your biggest achievement of the year? …
passing a couple of modules of my MA.  They weren’t the greatest marks but I passed, that’s the main thing.

What was your biggest failure? … Maybe not achieving the marks that I could potentially achieve in my MA modules.

Did you suffer illness or injury? … a few hospital admissions this year, mainly for water infections and also one for Pleurisy.

What was the best thing you bought? …
I’ve not really purchased anything big this year.  I do like buying things for Buddy though!

Where did most of your money go? … Ewww I’ve grown up.  The mortgage and bills.

What song will always remind you of 2014? … Probably Ed Sheeran’s Thinking out loud.

What do you wish you’d done more of? …
Travelled more.  Seen more of Emily.

What do you wish you’d done less of? ….
Spending money.

What was your favourite TV program? … Hollyoaks

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? …
Nope

What was the best book you read? … How awful that I didn’t read a book this year.  I have read lots of chapters in books for University all about children and childhood.

What was your greatest musical discovery? … I went to see Embrace live.  They were fantastic.

What was your favourite film of this year? … I only watched one film this year and that was Philomena.  It was pretty good but sad.

What did you do on your birthday? … Perfect night with the girls.  Into Manchester to watch McBusted Live and then stayed over in Manchester with late night pizza.

What kept you sane? …
Friends, Family and A.

Who did you miss? …
I miss the people that are no longer with us.  Rachy, Jess, My Gran.

Who was the best new person you met? … A, obviously and falling in love.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2014: … Don’t take your health for granted.  Little did I know that in 2015 I would be facing dialysis again and the prospect of waiting for a new kidney.

Leave a Reply

