Anaemia

The anaemia nurse rang me and is organising for me to start a treatment called Aranesp.   Aranesp is used to treat an abnormal low count of red blood cells in the blood (anaemia).  It consists of an injection in my stomach, arm or thigh every other week, I will have to visit the nurse at my GP surgery, however it is possible that you can do them yourself.  I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to things like this so not sure how I feel about it, I would love to be able to have the independence and confidence to do it myself at home but I’m not sure I can bring myself to do it.  There is no point asking A or my Dad as they are both needle phobic, my Mum seems confident that she could do it after seeing someone do it on me so thats always an option.

Currently the Aneamia is playing a part in me feeling so tired, so hopefully this will go some way to helping me.  Once I start dialysis, if aneamia is still a problem I will receive the aranesp in the dialysis machine every other week.

No other news really I am back for blood tests and clinic on Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

