My 2016


What an amazing year 2016 has been… at the beginning of the year I didn’t think it would be anything special, my health was at rock bottom, many friends drifted away, I gave up studying for my Masters and was still unable to work. 

In April with the support of my parents Aidan and I moved into our little house.  I had to move out of the flat as the stairs were just too much after dialysis.  We have settled in and have got it how we want it, we love entertaining people!  

Things with my health declined from there with many hospital admissions and procedures.  After the most difficult months in August and September (and a cancelled holiday abroad) in October my Mum selflessly gave me one of her kidneys.  I will never be able to thank her and will be eternally grateful.  Although things aren’t perfect for us just yet they have improved and for that I am truly thankful.  She Is my Mum, best friend and hero all rolled into one.


Finally on the 12th of December Aidan asked me to marry him.  Of course I said yes.  He has been amazing throughout my ill health and I’m looking forward to him getting to know the healthy version of me (we only had 6 months of that when we first got together and things went downhill).  I can’t wait to plan the wedding and become his wife! He makes me laugh everyday and has kept me going through the most

difficult times.  
In 2017 I will strive to be a better person.   Try and do more charity work for causes close to my heart.  I will not be hung up on the friends that forget about me when it comes to meeting up or nights out.  I will get fitter to give my kidney the best possible chance of lasting. I won’t get hung up on how fat my face is because of the steroids.  But most of all I will look forward to making new memories with the ones I love. 

I want to say thanks to my parents as always, Aidan and the friends that still visit and have time for me.  

Thanks to the Doctors, surgeons, nurses and health cares at The Royal for all their care and support for both me and my family. 

2017 will see me celebrate my 30th birthday, a holiday to Crete, hopefully some wedding planning and maybe even a hen do… who knows! 

I hope you all have a Happy and Healthy  New Year! 

Leave a Reply

